Skip to main content

Private Mental Health & ADHD Assessment Prices UK 2026

19 of the 48 UK providers in our mental health and ADHD directory print at least one fee that could be read from their own page and tied to one product (45 fees from 19 operators). Each fee is listed below exactly as printed, with who it is for, the clinician, the mode, the stated length and a link to the page it was read from. See whether the NHS or private route makes sense for you.

No range or typical price is given: the products differ in who carries them out, for whom, how long they last and whether they are by video or in person, and no single product is priced by four operators.

19 providers with published feesFee pages last read 5 October 2026

How much does private mental health and ADHD assessment cost in the UK in 2026?

19 of the 48 UK providers in our mental health and ADHD directory print at least one fee that could be read from their own page and tied to one product (45 fees from 19 operators); each is listed below with the provider’s own label and source, read 5 October 2026. No range or typical price is given, because no single product — the same service, for the same age group, by the same kind of clinician, in the same mode and of the same stated length — is priced by four operators. NHS Right to Choose can make an ADHD assessment NHS-funded through a GP referral. Prescription medicines are not named or priced on this page: the medicine is charged by the dispensing pharmacy, so confirm dispensing costs with the pharmacy.

Services

A formal diagnostic assessment for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, involving clinical interview, validated questionnaires, and developmental history review.

What the fee includes (report, follow-up, in person or by video) differs by provider. NHS Right to Choose may cover the cost via GP referral.

CBT Therapy (per session)

Cognitive behavioural therapy — a structured, evidence-based talking therapy that helps you identify and change unhelpful thought patterns and behaviours.

Typically 6–12 sessions recommended. NICE first-line treatment for anxiety and depression.

Psychiatrist Initial Consultation

First appointment with a consultant psychiatrist — a medical doctor specialising in mental health who can diagnose conditions, prescribe medication, and create treatment plans.

Appointment lengths differ by provider; the stated length is shown beside each fee.

Psychiatrist Follow-up

Review appointment with your psychiatrist for medication management, dose adjustment, or ongoing care monitoring.

Frequency depends on treatment stage. A follow-up is never compared with an initial appointment.

Psychological Assessment

No published price tracked yet

Comprehensive psychometric testing used to diagnose conditions such as autism spectrum disorder, learning difficulties, or personality disorders.

Includes standardised tests, clinical interview, and detailed written report.

Therapy delivered via video call or text-based messaging with a qualified therapist. Convenient access from home with no travel required.

Some services charge per session, others by subscription. The mode each fee applies to is shown beside it.

EMDR (per session)

No published price tracked yet

Eye Movement Desensitisation and Reprocessing — a trauma-focused therapy where you recall distressing events while the therapist guides your eye movements, helping the brain reprocess traumatic memories.

NICE-recommended for PTSD. Typically 6–12 sessions.

Couples Therapy

No published price tracked yet

Joint therapy sessions with a qualified relationship therapist to address communication issues, conflict, intimacy problems, or relationship breakdown.

Typically 50–60 minutes. May use approaches like Emotionally Focused Therapy (EFT).

Published fees, as each provider prints them

Each row is one provider’s figure, with its own label, read 5 October 2026. Who it is for, the clinician, the mode and the length are filled in only where the provider’s label, heading or column said so; otherwise they read “not stated”. Rows are alphabetical by provider, not by price, and no range or average is built. The fees grouped by exact product are in the provider directory.

ADHD assessment (adult and child)

28 fees from 16 providers (16 operators).

ProviderLabel as printedForClinicianModeLengthFeeSource
Acute Care Direct Limited – Remote ADHD Clinic“ADHD Assessment CQC registered”Under: Choose your path to ADHD careAge not statedClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£750Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
ADHD 360“Just the assessment”Under: Find the right ADHD care for youAge not statedClinician not statedMode not statedLength not statedfrom £950Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
ADHD Astute“ADHD Full Diagnostic Assessment”Under: Other services > Enquire NowAge not statedClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£650Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
ADHD CERTIFY LTD“Child ADHD Assessment Cost”Under: Child ADHD Assessment Includes > Treatment PlanChild / young personClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£795Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
ADHD Clinical UK Ltd - West Yorkshire“Adult ADHD Assessment”Under: Clear, Transparent PricingAdultClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£895Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
ADHD Clinical UK Ltd - West Yorkshire“Child ADHD Assessment”Under: Clear, Transparent PricingChild / young personClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£1,195Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Bartle House“ADHD Assessment”Under: Adults 18-65AdultClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£650Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Bartle House“ADHD Assessment”Under: Children and Adolescents (please email us)Child / young personClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£900Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Bartle House“ADHD Assessment”Under: 16-18 Age GroupAge not statedClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£1,250Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Care ADHD“ADHD Assessment”Under: At CARE ADHD, we’re proud to challenge the notion that exceptional, gold-standard healthcare must come with a hefty pricAge not statedClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£399Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Different Minds (ADHD-ASD Norfolk) Ltd“Full ADHD Diagnosis after screening”Under: Assessment Options & FeesAge not statedClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£795Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“ADHD Adult Follow up”Under: Fees & PricingAdultClinician not statedMode not stated20 min£225Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“ADHD Child & Adolescent Follow up”Under: Fees & PricingChild / young personClinician not statedMode not stated30 min£290Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“Child & Adolescent ADHD Assessment”Under: Fees & PricingChild / young personClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£1,495Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“In-Person”Under: ADHD Assessment (Adult)AdultClinician not statedIn personLength not stated£1,095Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“Virtual”Under: ADHD Assessment (Adult)AdultClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£695Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“Virtual”Under: Child & Adolescent ADHD AssessmentChild / young personClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£1,295Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Private Psychiatry“Adult ADHD Assessment In person”Under: Our Fees ExplainedAdultClinician not statedIn personLength not stated£1,100Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Private Psychiatry“Adult ADHD Assessment Virtual”Under: Our Fees ExplainedAdultClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£690Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“In-Person Adult ADHD Assessment”Under: Adult AssessmentsAdultClinician not statedIn personLength not stated£995Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“In-Person Appointment”Under: In-Person Child ADHD AssessmentChild / young personClinician not statedIn personLength not stated£1,650Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“Online Appointment”Under: Online Adult ADHD AssessmentAdultClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£695Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“Online Appointment”Under: Online Child ADHD AssessmentChild / young personClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£1,250Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Psychiatry-UK“Adult ADHD (Private) 1 hour online assessment with Consultant Psychiatrist (includes full initial assessment, opinion, recommendations, suggested treatment plan and report)”Under: Adult Autism & ADHD Assessment OverviewAdultPsychiatristVideo / online60 min£950Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
S E I K Psychiatry“Adult ADHD Diagnostic Assessment”Under: Our ServicesAdultClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£685Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The ADHD Centre“ADHD Enhanced Holistic Assessment – Online”Under: Standard Follow-Up AppointmentAge not statedClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£1,445Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Adult ADHD assessment”Under: Specialist services > Adult ADHD assessmentAdultClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£3,750Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The Marylebone Psychiatry Clinic Ltd“Adult ADHD Assessment”Under: We have a transparent fee structure with no hidden costs > (up to 1 hour)AdultClinician not statedMode not statedLength not stated£995Fee pageRead 5 October 2026

Private psychiatry

10 fees from 7 providers (7 operators).

ProviderLabel as printedForClinicianModeLengthFeeSource
Bartle House“Psychiatric Assessment General”Under: ServicesAge not statedPsychiatristMode not statedLength not stated£500Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
DC Psych“General Psychiatric Consultation - Follow-up”Under: Daniel Chetcuti - Pricing > Clinical Report and treatment recommendationsAge not statedPsychiatristMode not statedLength not statedfrom £300Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Harley Therapy“Follow-up psychiatric appointments (20-30 mins)”Under: Fees for Psychiatry > Pharmacogenetic testingAge not statedPsychiatristMode not stated20–30 min£230 – £300Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“In Person Appointment”Under: In-Person Psychiatric Initial AssessmentAge not statedPsychiatristIn personLength not stated£500Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“Online Appointment”Under: Online Psychiatric Initial AssessmentAge not statedPsychiatristVideo / onlineLength not stated£350Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Psychiatry-UK“1 hour online assessment with Consultant Psychiatrist (includes full initial assessment, opinion, recommendations, suggested treatment plan and report)”Under: Other Private Services OverviewAge not statedPsychiatristVideo / online60 min£360Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Follow-up consultation * (up to 30 mins)”Under: Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) > CAMHS consultant psychiatristChild / young personPsychiatristMode not stated30 min£375Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Follow-up consultation * (up to 60 mins)”Under: Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) > CAMHS consultant psychiatristChild / young personPsychiatristMode not stated60 min£750Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Initial assessment consultation * (1.5hrs)”Under: Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) > CAMHS consultant psychiatristChild / young personPsychiatristMode not stated90 min£1,125Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The Marylebone Psychiatry Clinic Ltd“Initial Psychiatric Consultation”Under: We have a transparent fee structure with no hidden costs > Book AppointmentAge not statedPsychiatristMode not statedLength not stated£695Fee pageRead 5 October 2026

Therapy, counselling and psychology

7 fees from 5 providers (5 operators).

ProviderLabel as printedForClinicianModeLengthFeeSource
Eton Psychiatrists Limited“Psychological Therapy”Under: Fees & PricingAge not statedPsychologistMode not stated50 min£200Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Harley Mind Care Psychiatrists – Gravesham Community Hospital“Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT)”Under: Treatment FeesAge not statedClinician not statedMode not stated50 min£150Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
Private Psychiatry“Psychotherapy & Counselling Virtual (60 minutes)”Under: Our Fees ExplainedAge not statedClinician not statedVideo / online60 min£220Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
PrivatePsychiatryExpert Limited“Online Appointment”Under: Talking Therapy SessionsAge not statedClinician not statedVideo / onlineLength not stated£150Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Therapy session * (up to 60 mins)”Under: Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) > CAMHS clinical psychologistChild / young personPsychologistMode not stated60 min£250Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Therapy session * (up to 60 minutes)”Under: Consultations > Clinical psychologistAge not statedPsychologistMode not stated60 min£250Fee pageRead 5 October 2026
The London Psychiatry Centre“Therapy session * (up to 60 minutes)”Under: Consultations > PsychotherapistAge not statedTherapist / counsellorMode not stated60 min£220Fee pageRead 5 October 2026

Providers compared

ADHD 360

ADHD assessment provider.

Fee page
1 fee read from its own page on 5 October 2026
Visit provider

BetterHelp

Online therapy service.

Fee page
Figures on the pages read, none attributable to one product
Visit provider

Clinical Partners

Psychiatry and therapy network.

Fee page
Nothing captured on the pages read
Visit provider

Harley Therapy

Therapy, psychology and psychiatry, London and online.

Fee page
1 fee read from its own page on 5 October 2026
Visit provider

Mindler (formerly ieso)

Online therapy service.

Fee page
Nothing captured on the pages read

Provider website not yet verified.

Priory

Mental health hospital group with outpatient services.

Fee page
Its pages carry £ figures, but none could be tied to one named product, so none is shown
Visit provider

Psychiatry-UK

Online psychiatry service.

Fee page
2 fees read from its own page on 5 October 2026
Visit provider

The Awareness Centre

Therapy centre, London and online.

Fee page
Its pages carry £ figures, but none could be tied to one named product, so none is shown
Visit provider

Every provider checked, with what its own pages say about services, delivery and NHS Right to Choose, is in the mental health and ADHD provider directory, listed A–Z.

Should you go private or use the NHS?

NHS route

NHS mental health services are free via GP referral. You can access talking therapies (NHS Talking Therapies) for anxiety and depression, and specialist psychiatric services for conditions like ADHD, bipolar, and psychosis. NHS ADHD assessment waiting lists are typically 2–4 years.

Typical wait: 2–4 years (ADHD); 6–18 weeks (talking therapies)

Private route

Same-day or next-day appointments. Choose your provider. No referral needed in most cases.

Typical wait: 24 hours – 1 week

When private mental health services makes sense

→

Long NHS ADHD waiting lists

NHS ADHD assessment waits are long in most areas. Private assessment fees are listed on this page as each provider prints them. NHS Right to Choose can provide an NHS-funded assessment by an approved provider via GP referral.

→

You need a specific therapy type

NHS talking therapies primarily offer CBT. If you need EMDR, psychodynamic therapy, couples therapy, or specialist trauma work, private gives you more choice.

→

You want to choose your therapist

Private therapy lets you select a specific therapist based on specialisation, approach, gender, or language. NHS services assign based on availability.

→

You need urgent support

Private psychiatrists can often see you within days. For crisis support, always contact NHS 111, Samaritans (116 123), or go to A&E.

What to check before booking

  • ✓Ask your GP about NHS Right to Choose for ADHD — it may be NHS-funded
  • ✓Check if your employer offers an EAP (Employee Assistance Programme) with free therapy sessions
  • ✓Verify the therapist is registered with BACP, UKCP, or BPS
  • ✓For psychiatrists, check GMC registration and specialist credentials
  • ✓Ask about sliding scale or reduced-rate sessions if cost is a barrier

Questions to ask a provider

  • ?What does the assessment include and how long does it take?
  • ?Will I receive a written report I can share with my GP?
  • ?How many therapy sessions are typically recommended?
  • ?What is your cancellation policy?
  • ?Can you prescribe medication, or is that a separate service?

Frequently asked questions

How much does a private ADHD assessment cost?
16 providers print ADHD fees we could tie to one product (16 operators); each is listed with its own label, who it is for, the clinician, the mode and the stated length. Read 5 October 2026. No range or typical figure is given: the assessments differ in whether they are for an adult or a child, in person or by video, and in what they include, and no single product is priced by four operators. NHS Right to Choose may make the assessment NHS-funded — ask your GP.
What is NHS Right to Choose for ADHD?
NHS Right to Choose allows you to ask your GP to refer you to an approved provider, which can be a private one, for an ADHD assessment funded by the NHS. You still need a GP referral, but the assessment itself is then NHS-funded. 7 providers in our directory say on their own site that they take Right to Choose referrals; each provider page quotes the sentence.
How much is private therapy per session?
5 providers print therapy, counselling or psychology fees we could tie to one product (5 operators); each is listed with its own label, who it is for, the clinician, the mode and the stated length. Read 5 October 2026. Sessions differ in length, in who delivers them (therapist, counsellor or psychologist) and in whether they are in person or by video, so no range is given.
What is the difference between CBT and counselling?
CBT is usually more structured and time-limited (often 6–12 sessions), while counselling may be more open-ended. CBT is NICE-recommended for anxiety and depression. The fees providers publish for therapy sessions are listed on this page with each provider's own label, so you can see whether a fee is for CBT, counselling or psychological therapy.
Is online therapy lower-cost than in-person?
We do not have enough published fees to say. Where a provider prints separate video and in-person fees, both are listed on this page against the same product, with the mode beside each; across providers, sessions differ in length and clinician as well as mode, so they are not compared.

Related comparisons

Sources & further reading

How these fees are collected

Providers come from a hand-compiled seed and from every active CQC location whose name, provider name or website names ADHD or psychiatry. CQC registration is matched by website hostname only. Each provider's own pages are read with a plain fetch. Services, video and in-person delivery, and NHS Right to Choose are recorded only where a line on the provider's own page states them, and that line is stored. Fees are read in three shapes only — a table row with one priced cell, a single 'Label: £X' line, and a price-only line inside a container holding exactly one — with the label printed before the figure and stored verbatim. Each figure is keyed by service, age group, clinician and stated length; nothing is assigned a default. Labels naming a medicine or medication management, autism or combined assessments, reports, deposits, plans, packages or subscriptions are refused.

A fee is shown only where it could be tied to one named product on the provider’s own page. Lists are alphabetical. We do not accept payment for inclusion.

Guides & articles

In-depth guides and cost breakdowns from the TreatCompare editorial team.