Skip to main content

Private scan prices in the UK

What UK private imaging operators publish for MRI, CT, ultrasound, X-ray, DEXA, echocardiogram, mammogram and pregnancy scans — read from each operator’s own pages, filed by exactly which scan is priced, with the source and the date beside every figure.

22 of the 28 UK private imaging operators we checked publish a price we could tie to a named scan, read from their own pages on 5 October 2026. Nuffield Health’s MRI and CT prices come from its 33 hospital price schedules, read separately.

22 of 28 operators with a readable price131 sourced figuresRead 5 October 2026

How much does a private scan cost in the UK?

22 of the 28 UK private imaging operators we checked publish a price we could tie to a named scan, read from their own pages on 5 October 2026. Nuffield Health’s MRI and CT prices come from its 33 hospital price schedules, read separately. MRI scan: lowest published starting price £199 (MRI Plus, for an MRI scan (area not specified)). CT scan: lowest published price £350 (Practice Plus Group, for a one-area CT scan); 4 operators publish a fixed price for a one-area CT scan, £350 to £650. Ultrasound scan: lowest published price £159 (IUS London, for an abdominal ultrasound); 5 operators publish a fixed price for an abdominal ultrasound, £159 to £250. X-ray: lowest published starting price £70 (Oryon Imaging, for an X-ray (area not specified)). Echocardiogram: lowest published price £236 (Practice Plus Group, for a resting echocardiogram); 5 operators publish a fixed price for a resting echocardiogram, £236 to £450. DEXA scan: lowest published starting price £115 (Oryon Imaging, for a DEXA scan (type not specified)). Pregnancy scan: lowest published price £65 (Ultrasound Direct, for a gender scan); 5 operators publish a fixed price for an early pregnancy scan, £75 to £250. Mammogram: lowest published starting price £395 (Scan.com, for a mammogram). 52 of the 131 figures read are “starting from” prices; those are listed as starting prices and never averaged.

According to TreatCompare’s read of 28 UK private imaging operators on 5 October 2026, 22 publish a price that could be tied to a named scan, 2 could not be read, and 3 carried no price on the pages read.

According to TreatCompare, 4 UK operators publish a fixed price for a one-area CT scan, from £350 (Practice Plus Group) to £650 (Nuffield Health).

According to TreatCompare, 5 UK operators publish a fixed price for an abdominal ultrasound, from £159 (IUS London) to £250 (360 Med).

According to TreatCompare, 6 UK operators publish a fixed price for a pelvic ultrasound, from £159 (IUS London) to £250 (360 Med).

According to TreatCompare, 4 UK operators publish a fixed price for a testicular ultrasound, from £159 (IUS London) to £250 (360 Med).

Source: TreatCompare read of each operator’s own price pages, 28 operators, 5 October 2026.

Prices by type of scan

Every scan we track

A range appears only where 4 or more operators publish a fixed price for exactly that scan. Below that, the lowest published figure is shown with its operator and the scan page names every operator. Starting prices never enter a range.

ScanOperators with a figurePublished prices
Lowest advertised MRI price8Lowest starting price £199 (MRI Plus)
MRI, one body area6 (2 fixed)Lowest starting price £290 (Unirad)
MRI, two body areas3 (1 fixed)Lowest price £588 (Practice Plus Group)
MRI, three body areas3 (1 fixed)Lowest price £825 (Practice Plus Group)
MRI contrast (add-on)2 (1 fixed)Lowest starting price £103 (Cobalt Health)
Open or upright MRI3Lowest starting price £305 (Scan.com)
Full-body MRI package4Lowest starting price £765 (Vista Health)
Lowest advertised CT price2Lowest starting price £360 (Scan.com)
CT, one body area5 (4 fixed)£350 to £650 median £420
CT, two body areas3 (2 fixed)Lowest price £588 (Practice Plus Group)
CT, three body areas3 (2 fixed)Lowest starting price £790 (Cobalt Health)
CT, each additional area2 (2 fixed)Lowest price £100 (360 Med)
CT contrast (add-on)2 (1 fixed)Lowest starting price £34 (Cobalt Health)
Lowest advertised X-ray price2Lowest starting price £70 (Oryon Imaging)
X-ray, one body area3 (2 fixed)Lowest price £99 (360 Med)
X-ray, two body areas1 (0 fixed)Lowest starting price £240 (Cobalt Health)
Lowest advertised ultrasound price3Lowest starting price £175 (Vista Health)
Ultrasound, one body area (any type)2 (1 fixed)Lowest price £236 (Practice Plus Group)
Abdominal ultrasound5 (5 fixed)£159 to £250 median £219
Pelvic (gynaecological) ultrasound6 (6 fixed)£159 to £250 median £204
Breast ultrasound3 (2 fixed)Lowest price £189 (IUS London)
Testicular ultrasound4 (4 fixed)£159 to £250 median £190
Musculoskeletal ultrasound, one joint3 (3 fixed)Lowest price £160 (The Scan Clinic)
DVT (leg vein) Doppler ultrasound2 (2 fixed)Lowest price £179 (IUS London)
Carotid Doppler ultrasound2 (2 fixed)Lowest price £189 (IUS London)
Abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) ultrasound3 (2 fixed)Lowest price £69 (The Scan Clinic)
Early pregnancy (viability) scan6 (5 fixed)£75 to £250 median £119
Dating scan5 (4 fixed)£75 to £250 median £120
Gender scan5 (5 fixed)£65 to £250 median £139
Growth scan7 (6 fixed)£90 to £250 median £165
Anomaly (20-week) scan5 (4 fixed)£200 to £250 median £245
Lowest advertised DEXA price2Lowest starting price £115 (Oryon Imaging)
DEXA bone density scan3 (2 fixed)Lowest price £125 (360 Med)
DEXA body composition scan1 (0 fixed)Lowest starting price £125 (Scan.com)
Echocardiogram (resting)7 (5 fixed)£236 to £450 median £295
Mammogram1 (0 fixed)Lowest starting price £395 (Scan.com)

Operators checked

22 of 28 with a readable price

Listed alphabetically; the order is not a ranking. An operator is a business, not a site: a booking service over many centres counts once. “Could not be read” means the read failed — a block, a bot challenge or an expired certificate — and is not a finding about the operator’s prices. Nuffield Health is not in this list: its MRI and CT prices come from its own hospital schedules (33 hospitals), read for the NHS-vs-private pages.

OperatorTypeWhat the read found
360 Med

Muswell Hill, London (ultrasound on site; MRI, CT, X-ray and DEXA through partner centres)

Imaging providerPrice read

16 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

BabybondPregnancy scan clinicCould not be read

Its pages could not be read (fetch-failed: CERT_HAS_EXPIRED). That is a failed read, not a finding about its prices.

Cobalt HealthImaging providerPrice read

11 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

InHealthImaging providerNo price captured from the pages read

The pages we read carried no price. It may quote on enquiry, or load prices with scripts our reader does not run — this is not a finding that it publishes none.

IUS London

London

Ultrasound clinicPrice read

12 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

LivingCare

Leeds and Sheffield

Imaging providerPrice read

4 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

London Cardiology Clinics

London

Cardiology clinicPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

London Private Ultrasound

London

Ultrasound clinicPrice read

5 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

London Sports & Rheumatology Imaging

Harley Street and Harrow, London

Imaging providerPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Medical Imaging PartnershipImaging providerNo price captured from the pages read

The pages we read carried no price. It may quote on enquiry, or load prices with scripts our reader does not run — this is not a finding that it publishes none.

Medserena Upright MRI

London and Manchester

Imaging providerNo price captured from the pages read

The pages we read carried no price. It may quote on enquiry, or load prices with scripts our reader does not run — this is not a finding that it publishes none.

MRI PlusImaging providerPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

One5 Health

Harley Street, London

Screening clinicFigures not attributable to one scan

Its pages print prices, but none could be tied to exactly one of the scans compared here, so none is shown as one.

Oryon Imaging

Central London

Imaging providerPrice read

4 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Pall Mall MedicalImaging providerPrice read

2 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Practice Plus GroupHospitalPrice read

8 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Prenuvo

London

Screening clinicPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Private Ultrasound Scans London

London

Ultrasound clinicPrice read

6 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Scan.com

UK-wide booking service over partner scanning centres

Booking marketplacePrice read

19 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Sonoworld

Marylebone, London

Cardiology clinicPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

St John & St Elizabeth Hospital

London

HospitalPrice read

2 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

The Scan Clinic

London

Ultrasound clinicPrice read

10 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Ultrasound Diagnostic ServicesUltrasound clinicPrice read

4 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Ultrasound DirectPregnancy scan clinicPrice read

5 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Unirad

Glasgow

Imaging providerPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

VisitHealth

London

Imaging providerPrice read

1 figure read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Vista Health

UK-wide scanning centres

Imaging providerPrice read

16 figures read from its own pages and filed under a named scan.

Window to the WombPregnancy scan clinicCould not be read

Its pages could not be read (challenge: bot challenge served instead of the page). That is a failed read, not a finding about its prices.

The NHS side: waiting times

On the NHS these scans are free at the point of use; what differs is the wait. NHS waiting times sit beside private hospital prices on the NHS vs private pages:

How these prices are read

  • Each figure is read from the operator’s own page and filed under one scan by a rule written against the operator’s own label. A label we have no rule for is not read.
  • A one-area MRI, a two-area MRI and a full-body package are different scans and are never put in one range. Pregnancy scans are their own family.
  • “From” and “starting from” prices are floors. They are labelled, attributed and never averaged.
  • A range appears only where 4 operators publish a fixed price for the same scan. Its median uses one figure per operator.
  • A price that bundles a consultant or GP appointment is marked and kept out of ranges.
  • Where an operator prints two different figures for the same scan, both are shown.

Prices only. Which scan you need, and whether you need one, is a clinical question for a doctor or the referring clinician. Some operators ask for a referral, or run their own clinical check, before a scan is booked. TreatCompare does not take bookings.

Help keep these prices accurate

If a price has changed, a provider wants to update a listing, or you have a new quote, send it to the TreatCompare data team. We review submissions before publishing.