Skip to main content

IVF in Australia: Most Clinics Publish No Price At All

Key findings

  • Only 41 of 97 accredited Australian fertility clinics publish a fee schedule that can be read from their own website
  • Among the 4 operators that do publish a comparable figure, an IVF cycle runs A$4,735 to A$7,599 out of pocket after the Medicare rebate
  • That is a gap of A$2,864 for the same procedure, between providers that both publish a figure
  • A patient comparing Australian clinics on price cannot do so for most of the market: the gap is in what providers disclose, not only in what they charge
  • 3 states and territories (TAS, ACT, NT) have no public IVF program — patients must pay privately
  • Bulk-billing and lower-cost IVF routes vary by clinic; patients should verify current inclusions and exclusions directly with providers
  • Most patients need 2–3 cycles, putting total private costs at $11,496–$17,244

TreatCompare analysis of 29 RTAC-accredited Australian IVF clinics. Prices verified April 2026. All figures in AUD.

“Two patients at different clinics in the same city can pay $2,864 apart for the same IVF procedure — and patients in three states have no public option at all.”

— TreatCompare Australian IVF Price Index, April 2026

According to TreatCompare analysis of 29 RTAC-accredited Australian IVF clinics,out-of-pocket costs for a standard IVF cycle run A$4,735 to A$7,599 after Medicare rebates among the 4 operators that publish a comparable figure — a gap of A$2,864 betweenthe lower-cost and most expensive clinic.

According to TreatCompare data, the average Australian IVF patient pays $5,748 out of pocket per cycle after Medicare. Most patients require 2 to 3 cycles, putting total private costs at $11,496 to $17,244 before the Medicare Safety Net provides additional rebates.

According to TreatCompare analysis, 3 Australian states and territories — TAS, ACT, NT — have no public IVF program. Patients in these regions must pay for IVF privately, with no free option available.

According to TreatCompare data, lower-cost and bulk-billing IVF routes are not directly comparable unless medicines, day surgery, anaesthetist fees, freezing, storage and add-ons are included in the written estimate.The highest published out-of-pocket figure is A$7,599 per cycle.

The IVF price gap

IVF pricing in Australia is not standardised. Medicare provides rebates of $2,800–$3,200 per cycle, but the gap between what clinics charge and what Medicare covers varies enormously. The result is an out-of-pocket cost that differs by thousands between the few providers that publish one at all.

Lowest out-of-pocket

Flinders Fertility

A$4,735 per cycle

Highest out-of-pocket

Melbourne IVF

A$7,599 per cycle

$2,864

price gap between lower-cost and most expensive clinic

All 29 RTAC clinics compared by price

ClinicStateIVF OOPICSI add-onAccess program
Adora FertilityLowest OOPNSWNot published—Adora Fixed-Fee IVF
Canberra Fertility CentreACTNot published——
City FertilityQLDNot publishedA$2,178 out of pocketCity Fertility Affordable IVF
Concept FertilityWANot published——
Demeter FertilityNSWNot publishedA$3,535 before medicare—
Eve HealthQLDNot published——
Fertility FirstNSWNot publishedA$2,498 out of pocket—
Fertility NorthWANot publishedA$2,535.50 out of pocket—
Fertility PlusNSWNot published——
Fertility SASANot published—Repromed Access
Fertility SolutionsQLDNot published——
Fertility Specialists of Western AustraliaWAA$5,196 out of pocketA$2,948 out of pocket—
Flinders FertilitySAA$4,735 out of pocket——
GeneaNSWA$4,290 basis not statedA$4,925 before medicare—
IVFAustraliaNSWNot published—Virtus Affordable IVF
Life Fertility ClinicQLDNot published——
Melbourne IVFVICA$7,599 out of pocketA$3,039 out of pocketVirtus Affordable IVF
Monash IVFVICNot published—Monash IVF Access
Newlife IVFVICA$5,463.20 out of pocketA$2,226.70 out of pocket—
Next Generation FertilityVICNot published——
Number 1 FertilityBulk-billingVICA$500 before medicare——
Primary IVFNSWNot published——
Queensland Fertility GroupQLDNot published—QFG Access IVF
Rainbow FertilityNSWNot published——
Repromed DarwinNTA$4,981.15 basis not statedA$2,366.45 basis not stated—
Sydney IVFNSWNot published——
TasIVFTASNot published——
Virtus Health TasmaniaTASNot published——
Westmead Fertility CentreHighest OOPNSWNot published——

OOP = out-of-pocket after standard Medicare rebate, before Safety Net threshold. All clinics RTAC-accredited. Prices verified April 2026.

Lower-cost IVF by state

StateLower-cost clinicOOP fromPublic IVF?
New South WalesNone publishing a comparable price—Yes
VictoriaNewlife IVFA$5,463.20Yes
QueenslandNone publishing a comparable price—Yes
South AustraliaNone publishing a comparable price—Yes
Western AustraliaNone publishing a comparable price—Yes
TasmaniaNone publishing a comparable price—No
Australian Capital TerritoryNone publishing a comparable price—No
Northern TerritoryNone publishing a comparable price—No

The public IVF gap

Public IVF is available in 5 states (NSW, VIC, QLD, SA, WA) but 3 states and territories have no public program at all. Patients in TAS, ACT, NT must pay privately — there is no free option.

Even where public IVF exists, wait times are long. NSW has the largest program but patients wait 6–18 months. Queensland patients face 12–24 months. Many patients who qualify for public IVF still go private because they cannot afford to wait.

True cost of IVF in Australia

The out-of-pocket cost per cycle is only part of the story. Medication, anaesthetist fees, and storage add significantly to the total.

True cost breakdown per cycle (AUD)

IVF cycle (out-of-pocket after Medicare)A$4,735 – A$7,599
Stimulation medication (with PBS)$160 – $285
Stimulation medication (without PBS)$1,500 – $3,000
ICSI (if required)$1,000 – $2,500
Anaesthetist$400 – $800
Embryo storage (per year)$300 – $600
Realistic total per cycle$3,000 – $15,000

The Medicare Safety Net provides additional rebates once out-of-pocket costs exceed $2,699.10 in a calendar year — but this threshold must be reached first. Most patients need 2–3 cycles, putting total costs at $11,496–$17,244 before Safety Net benefits apply.

See full IVF cost breakdown →

IVF cost by state (map)

Interactive Australian map showing IVF pricing and public access by state

Coming soon — will show lower-cost clinic, public availability, and average OOP by state.

Interactive tools & data

Methodology

Data sources: Clinic pricing from published fee schedules at 29 RTAC-accredited Australian IVF clinics. Medicare rebate data from the MBS Online schedule. PBS medication pricing from pbs.gov.au. Public IVF access data from state health department websites.

Analysis: TreatCompare analysis of publicly available clinic pricing and government data. Out-of-pocket estimates assume standard Medicare rebates before the Safety Net threshold is reached. ICSI and medication costs are additional to the base IVF cycle fee.

Limitations: Clinic pricing changes periodically. Some clinics offer promotional or access-program pricing not reflected in standard fee schedules. Costs are indicative and vary by patient circumstances, treatment protocol, and clinic. All figures in AUD.

Full methodology: /data-accuracy

Suggested attribution

Source: TreatCompare Australian IVF Price Index — analysis of 29 RTAC-accredited clinics (April 2026). https://www.treatcompare.com/au/press/ivf-cost-australia

Sources & further reading

Press contact

For interviews, custom data cuts, state-by-state breakdowns, or chart embeds, use the contact page. TreatCompare is a trading name of Indexeli Intelligence Limited.