Skip to main content

Private Mental Health & ADHD Prices Australia 2026

10 of the 27 Australian telehealth psychiatry, psychology and ADHD services checked publish a fee that could be read and tied to one service. Each fee is listed below with the provider’s own label, whether it is a fee or an out-of-pocket cost, and a link to the page it was read from on 2 October 2026. In-person fees are not tracked. Medicare rebates explained. All amounts in AUD.

Medicare note: A Mental Health Care Plan from your GP gives 10 subsidised psychologist sessions per year; the current rebate for each item is on MBS Online. Psychiatrist consultations also attract Medicare rebates with a GP referral.

Services

A formal diagnostic assessment for ADHD involving clinical interview, validated questionnaires, developmental history review, and a comprehensive diagnostic report.

By psychiatrist or clinical psychologist. Fees below are for telehealth; in-person assessments are not tracked.

Psychiatrist Initial Consultation

First appointment with a consultant psychiatrist — a medical doctor specialising in mental health who can diagnose conditions, prescribe medication, and create treatment plans.

Medicare rebate applies with a valid GP referral.

A therapy session with a registered psychologist, typically using evidence-based approaches like CBT, ACT, or EMDR. Medicare rebates available with a Mental Health Care Plan.

Medicare rebate applies with a Mental Health Care Plan.

Online Therapy

No published price tracked yet

Therapy delivered via video call, text messaging, or structured online programs with a licensed therapist or psychologist. Convenient access from home.

Text, video or app-based platforms.

CBT Session

No published price tracked yet

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy — a structured, evidence-based talking therapy that helps identify and change unhelpful thought patterns and behaviours. NICE and RANZCP first-line for anxiety and depression.

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy — in-person or telehealth.

Published telehealth fees by provider

10 of the 27 Australian telehealth psychiatry, psychology and ADHD services checked publish a fee that could be read and tied to one service. Each row is one provider’s figure as printed on its own fee page, read 2 October 2026, listed alphabetically rather than by price. A fee and an out-of-pocket cost are never compared, and a first appointment is never set beside a follow-up. Follow-up appointments and every provider checked are on telehealth fees in Australia.

ADHD assessment

ADHD assessment with a psychiatrist: first appointment

6 providers publish a fee for "ADHD assessment with a psychiatrist: first appointment" (6 operators). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
ExpertMinds1 st appointment -New ADHDunder “ADHD Assessments”45 minA$790FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Meta PsychiatryADHD 1st Appointmentunder “ADHD Assessments”Length not statedA$660FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Mindscape PsychiatryADHD 1st Appointmentunder “ADHD/Complex Assessments”Length not statedA$780FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion Health1. ADHD Initial assessment appointment 50–60 minutesunder “ADHD Assessment — Psychiatrist”50–60 minA$641Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion Health1. ADHD Initial assessment appointment 50–60 minutesunder “ADHD Assessment — Psychiatrist”50–60 minA$910FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Psych UnitedInitial ADHD Assessmentunder “Adult ADHD Assessments”Length not statedA$850Basis not statedFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
WellvueInitial Consultation (60 mins)under “ADHD Assessment Fees”60 minA$800 – A$1,000FeeRange printed by the providerFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

ADHD assessment with a psychiatrist: second appointment

5 providers publish a fee for "ADHD assessment with a psychiatrist: second appointment" (5 operators). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
ExpertMinds2 nd appointment-New ADHDunder “ADHD Assessments”45 minA$790FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Meta PsychiatryADHD 2nd Appointmentunder “ADHD Assessments”Length not statedA$660FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Mindscape PsychiatryADHD 2nd Appointmentunder “ADHD/Complex Assessments”Length not statedA$680FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion Health2. ADHD Second assessment appointment 30 minutesunder “ADHD Assessment — Psychiatrist”30 minA$543Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion Health2. ADHD Second assessment appointment 30 minutesunder “ADHD Assessment — Psychiatrist”30 minA$680FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
WellvueSession 2 and 3 (45 mins each)under “ADHD Assessment Fees”45 minA$650 – A$750FeeRange printed by the providerFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

ADHD assessment with a psychiatrist: whole assessment

1 provider publishes a fee for "ADHD assessment with a psychiatrist: whole assessment" (1 operator). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
Pandion HealthADHD Assessment totalunder “ADHD Assessment — Psychiatrist”Length not statedA$1,590FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

ADHD assessment with a GP: first appointment

1 provider publishes a fee for "ADHD assessment with a GP: first appointment" (1 operator). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
Holistica HealthInitial GP ADHD assessment (Adults and children)under “How much does an ADHD assessment cost at Holistica Health?”Length not statedA$350FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

Psychiatrist

Psychiatrist initial consultation

7 providers publish a fee for "Psychiatrist initial consultation" (7 operators). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
ExpertMinds1 st Appointmentunder “Non-ADHD Assessment:”45 minA$690FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Meta PsychiatryNew Patientunder “Fees are revised annually.”Length not statedA$660FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Mindscape PsychiatryNew Patient Appointmentunder “Standard Appointments”Length not statedA$780FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion HealthStandard Initial assessmentunder “Psychiatrist Standard Assessment (non-ADHD/ASD)”Length not statedA$541Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion HealthStandard Initial assessmentunder “Psychiatrist Standard Assessment (non-ADHD/ASD)”Length not statedA$810FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Psych UnitedInitial General Psychiatryunder “Adult General Psychiatry”Length not statedA$600Basis not statedFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
The Mind CoveInitial consultationunder “Psychiatrist Fees”45–60 minA$610FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
WellvuePsychiatrist Initial Consultation (60 mins)under “What Will I Actually Pay?”60 minA$650 – A$1,000Basis not statedRange printed by the providerFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

Psychology and mental health care plans

Psychology session, general psychologist

2 providers publish a fee for "Psychology session, general psychologist" (2 operators). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
Pandion HealthStandard consultation 50 minutes — Mental Health Care Plans Acceptedunder “General Psychologist”50 minA$98Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion HealthStandard consultation 50 minutes — Mental Health Care Plans Acceptedunder “General Psychologist”50 minA$200FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Tele-PsychGeneral Psychologistunder “Out Of Pocket/Gap Fee”Length not statedA$108.45Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Tele-PsychGeneral Psychologistunder “Session Fee”Length not statedA$210FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

Psychology session, clinical psychologist

2 providers publish a fee for "Psychology session, clinical psychologist" (2 operators). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
Pandion HealthStandard consultation 50 minutes — Mental Health Plan Acceptedunder “Clinical Psychologist”50 minA$126Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Pandion HealthStandard consultation 50 minutes — Mental Health Plan Acceptedunder “Clinical Psychologist”50 minA$275FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Tele-PsychClinical Psychologistunder “Out Of Pocket/Gap Fee”Length not statedA$110.95Out of pocketFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
Tele-PsychClinical Psychologistunder “Session Fee”Length not statedA$260FeeFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

GP mental health treatment plan (telehealth)

2 providers publish a fee for "GP mental health treatment plan (telehealth)" (2 operators). Fewer than 4 operators publish an exact figure on one basis for the same stated appointment length, so no range is stated; each provider is named with its own fee.

ProviderAs the provider labels itStated lengthPublished feeBasisSource
GP2UMental Health Support/Treatment Planunder “Comprehensive Telehealth Service”Length not statedA$170 – A$220Basis not statedRange printed by the providerFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026
InstantScriptsMental health care plansunder “About InstantScripts”Length not statedA$49Basis not statedFee page ↗Read 2 October 2026

Other providers

Maple Psychology

Telehealth

Telehealth psychology sessions. Registered psychologists.

Fee page
No fee on the page we read
Visit provider

This Way Up

Online CBT

Online CBT programs. Developed by St Vincent's Hospital.

Visit provider

How is mental health services funded in Australia?

PBS

Some psychiatric medications are PBS-listed. ADHD medications are PBS-subsidised with an authority prescription from an appropriately qualified prescriber, typically a psychiatrist. Eligibility is decided clinically; check the current PBS schedule at pbs.gov.au.

Medicare

A Medicare Mental Health Care Plan gives 10 subsidised psychology sessions a year. Psychiatrist consultations attract a rebate with a GP referral. The current rebate for each item is on MBS Online; the gap is the provider's fee minus that rebate.

Private health insurance

Private health insurance extras may cover part of a psychology session, depending on the policy. Hospital cover includes in-patient psychiatric care.

When paying privately for mental health services makes sense

→

You need an ADHD assessment

Public ADHD assessment waits can be long. Telehealth psychiatry services publish their assessment fees; the tables above name each with its source.

→

You've used your 10 Medicare sessions

The Mental Health Care Plan provides 10 sessions per year. After that, private psychology sessions are charged without a rebate.

→

You want a specific therapist or modality

Medicare-rebated sessions may limit your choice of therapist. Paying privately gives access to specialists in EMDR, DBT, schema therapy, and other modalities.

→

You need flexible scheduling

Some telehealth psychology services offer evening and weekend sessions. Ask about the fee and any rebate before booking.

What to check before booking

  • ✓Ask your GP about a Mental Health Care Plan (10 subsidised sessions/year)
  • ✓Check if the provider offers Medicare rebates
  • ✓Verify AHPRA registration of the practitioner
  • ✓Ask about the out-of-pocket gap fee before booking

Sources & further reading

Prescription treatments require a valid Australian prescription from an AHPRA-registered practitioner. This site does not provide medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any treatment.